First Post

So I have no idea how to navigate this blog/site.  I’m so torn about why I even want to blog, or if I even do want to blog.  We’ll see.  I’ve been reading a lot of blogs in the past few months.  This isn’t something I ever used to do.  Some interest me because they are people I know, care about, and respect.  Others, I just came across and appreciated the content.  I also enjoy hot topics and the “heated” discussions they can lead to.  This isn’t always a good thing, but I do enjoy some healthy bantering.  However, I tend to get tired of hearing people different beliefs and thoughts on different topics and issues.  I don’t want my blog to mimic another’s.  Part of me just wants to sit down and write whatever comes to mind on a given day.  I’m not generally an organized person, so this is usually how I roll.  Maybe that’s what this will be for now.

Some things you may want to know about me, the author of this site:

1.  I’m 25 and an only child.

2.  I am in my first serious dating relationship.  I’m sure that will come up in some of my writing.

6 months and counting...

 

3.  I like coffee, but not the kind with a bunch of sweet stuff added, just coffee and cream.  I am a barista….baby. ;)

4.  I have a new found love for dogs, although I don’t think I’m responsible enough to have one of my own.  However, I have become a dog sitter of sorts.

5.  I lived in France for about 9 months last year.

6.  I want to love Jesus.  I try to follow Him.  He is what I want my life to be about.  Of course this will reflect in my writing.

7.  I’m drawn to people who do NOT share my beliefs.  Life is more interesting that way.

8.  I’m lazy.  I wish I weren’t, but the first step towards change is confession, right?

9.  I’m trying to get in shape and be a healthy person.  This is not easy. (esp. when I’m lazy)

10.  I’m becoming a home-body, but do like adventures.

 

That’s enough for now.  It’s Valentine’s Day.  I found this quote interesting…thoughts?:

“It is easier to be enthusiastic about Humanity with a capital “H” than it is to love individual men and women, especially those who are uninteresting, exasperating, depraved, or otherwise unattractive. Loving everybody in general may be an excuse for loving nobody in particular” – C.S. Lewis

11 thoughts on “First Post”

  1. Yay, no; confession is the second step. The first is thinking about it. That’s why Jesus and Paul and them spend a lot of time talking about guarding our heart and policing our thoughts.

      1. No, unless you are moved by the HS, but then it wouldn’t be a confession, it’d be an oracle. Perhaps you could think of your heart as a garden where seeds are planted. Your thougths plant some of those seeds and nuture and cultivate those and other seeds planted by others. Concession is a glimps into that garden, as if you were showing others what you are growing. After you show it to others, you have created an expectation by them to see it come to fruition because that’s the natural order hence strengthening your motivation to bring it to full term (if that makes sense). When the plants mature and produce fruit and that fruit is ripe, then action results. If action does not result, then that fruit is either not ripe or is rotting on the plant.

    1. hmm…that will take some thought on my part. So what does it mean when we talk about confessing our sin? And what is an oracle? Perhaps we can discuss this more sometime?

      1. The English concept of confession and Hebrew concept of confession are two different things :).

        I’m assuming you are referring to 1 John 1:19, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” John is succinctly referring back to Lev 5:5-13. Hebrew is an action based language. Talking is itself an action, but talking about action isn’t an action. Lev 5:5, “And it will be that be, when he is guilty of one of these things, that he will confess (ידה – yadah) that he has sinned (חטא – chata) in that thing.” Remember when we talked about the three flavors of sin? Chata is accidental sin, i.e. you sinned and didn’t know it. So what this verse is saying is that when that sin is revealed to you, confess, yada – cast it away from you, i.e. repent. In the context of the verses that follow, it show the order of how this is done by offering a trespass offering and when this is done, the sin is forgiven (סלח – salach), literally lifted out of debt.

        Okay, we don’t do sacrifices these days, so what is the meat of what John saying here? (Read Ps 32 for perspective before going on.) He isn’t simply telling us to say, ‘Yep Jesus, I sinned, I’m a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad person, please forgive me.’ :). In addition to the prior mentioned, he is telling us to case our sin away from us, i.e. confession, true confession, is when we no longer willfully continue in that specific accidental sin that has been revealed to us.

      2. An oracle is when the spirit of God comes upon you and you can’t help but prophesy.

        1 Sam 10:10-12

        10 And when they came close to the hill, behold, a company of prophets met him; and the Spirit of God came upon him, and he prophesied among them.

        11 And it came to pass, when all that knew him beforetime saw that, behold, he prophesied among the prophets, then the people said one to another, What is this that is come unto the son of Kish? Is Saul also among the prophets?

        12 And one of the same place answered and said, But who is their father? Therefore it became a proverb, Is Saul also among the prophets?
        KJV

      3. Joshua, Thanks so much for responding. OF COURSE the english and hebrew concept of confession are two very different things that I am just learning RIGHT NOW. (hint of sarcasm) I feel like there is much “undoing” to be done in the way I have been trained to think. This could overwhelm me, but mostly it just excites me! Although all of the things you are teaching me makes me want to copy and paste your thoughts and blog them so that I can pass it along to others. I don’t think I can actually do that, but I hope people read your comments. I’m just so excited that there is so much more for me to learn!!

      4. I’ve been working on changing the way I think for about the last ten year and it still overwhelms me :). It’s definitely a paradigm shift and every more so a blessing; its something that God said would happen in the last days and that’s why things are the way they are why things have been the way they’ve been in regards to how we think, perceive, and understand the Bible.

        Jer 16:19
        19 O LORD, my strength, and my fortress, and my refuge in the day of affliction, the Gentiles shall come unto thee from the ends of the earth, and shall say, Surely our fathers have inherited lies, vanity, and things wherein there is no profit.
        KJV

        This is part of the prophesy of the fish which started when Jesus came and made fishers of men. What follows the time of fishing is a time of hunting which is a reference to the enemies of God. Its a bit of an in-depth study :).

  2. If you go to my blog, there will be a bar up on the top, just click follow. You can set it to e-mail you when I write a new one or you can look at them in your WordPress “Read Blogs” tab, just click on “Blogs I Follow”

  3. I like your quote from C.S. Lewis!

    Something similar appears in his book That Hideous Strength, where one of Lewis’ characters says, “I happen to believe you can’t study men; you can only get to know them, which is quite a different thing.”

    Best wishes for your blog!

give yourself a voice...

