the Get-a-Better-Bod god

Katy, don’t worry about it…just eat the caramel roll.  Sure you may regret it after, but right now, who cares?  Yes, you did go through the same thing yesterday with the big monster cookie, but don’t worry about that.  Tomorrow will be another new day.  It’s just a caramel roll,anyways.

Exactly.  That’s it.  It’s just a caramel roll.  Why.  Why why why is it that I believe that a caramel roll is going to make me feel good.  Well, because while I’m eating it it seems like the best 2 minutes of my life…but then it’s gone.  Now I want more.  More caramel rolls.  More and more and more caramel rolls.  Or…I want to undo what I just did.  ugh.

Katy, just cut out sugar, cut out carbs, cut out gluten…don’t you want to impress your boyfriend?  Don’t you want to hear people telling you how great you look in that outfit?  Don’t you want to be able to wear a bikini?  YES, yes, yes…maybe then I’ll find the lasting satisfaction I thought that lousy caramel roll would give me.

Actually, my motivation for “eating well” works…for about a week.  Why is that?  Because it’s just another faux god.

So the vicious cycle goes.  Last week it was the “get a better bod god” and this week it’s the “food god.”  I think I can find freedom in them, when really, they suffocate me.  They seduce me. I give them control and they put me in chains.  This is anything but freedom.

What is different about my True God?  When I give Him control, He breaks those very chains.  When I give Him control, I receive freedom.  When I give Him control, He gives it back to me.  He enables me to practice self-control by the power of His Spirit living in me.  Nothing makes more sense to me.  His grace is so much more incredible than I can ever be aware.

“Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone (or anything) put a harness of slavery on you.” -Galatians 5:1 (I added italicized words)

Thoughts??

give yourself a voice...

