life as an idealist, part I

Idealist– (according to dictionary.com)
1.  a person who cherishes or pursues high or noble principles,purposes, goals, etc.
Synonyms: optimist, perfectionist,reformer, visionary, utopianist.
Antonyms: pragmatist,skeptic, cynic.
2.a visionary or impractical person.
Synonyms: romantic,romanticist, dreamer, stargazer.
Antonyms: realist,materialist.
3.a person who represents things as they might or should be rather than as they are

This will be a sort of introduction to a two part series (I think).
I’m an idealist.  It’s part of who I am and my personality.  It’s an incredible strength and weakness.  It’s a gift that can be used for good, but can also do much damage.  I’m going to share a bit about how I’m learning this, as I learn more about myself.

Idealists often believe the best and seek out the good in others.  We tend to look at a person, relationship, or given situation and see the potential…what could be.  This is an incredible gift, as it often means we are good encouragers, very hopeful, and optimistic in situations where others may feel hopeless and defeated.  I believe this also enables us to feel deeply and intensely, because we can see beyond the “ugly” and find beauty in broken people and places, hopeful that redemption will come.

However, it is very possible that we idealists can tend to live out-of-touch with reality.  We can easily fantasize and create false realities, distorting facts, which can lead to unhealthy thinking and living.  In my life, I’ve done this and done it well.  Especially when it comes to people and relationships.  This is where we have to be careful and really keep our thoughts in check with what’s real. (WAY easier said than done for an idealist)

In my next post, there are a couple of ways I’d like to discuss how, for the idealist, emotionally deep relationships may cause our thoughts to slip out of reality and into fantasy and the harm this can cause.  One way I’ll discuss is how this happens while the idealist is in the midst of a relationship or friendship in which they are very invested.  The second has to do with how this happens when a relationship as been severed or has ended.  I’m sharing these things not as an expert, but as someone who was created by God with the tendency to idealize.   I’ll mainly be sharing from what I’ve learned based on my own experience..  I will share as a struggler who is seeking to live more and more in reality.  Like I’ve said before…Reality is where real life is, and it’s where we can be used as a powerful force for good in the world.

So, are you an idealist?  If so, in what ways/what do you idealize?  Do people tend to see you as being out-of-touch with reality?  If you’re not an idealist, what do you think of us?

haha.  I just laughed to myself, because not many people comment on these posts anyways, but I still always like to include questions just in case someone might want to dialogue.  There is no pressure to comment unless you want to.

Cheers until next time,  Katy

5 thoughts on “life as an idealist, part I”

  1. If you have a lot of experience on the subject, doesn’t that make you an expert?

    I don’t know if I’m an idealist or not. I do seem to have a little bit different perspective on things than most people though.

    1. haha. Perhaps, but did I say “a lot” of experience? I suppose I do have a lot of experience…but didn’t really understand any of it until recently…maybe I think pressure and expectation comes with being an expert…so I would never call myself one. :D And maybe you are an idealist…I’m not sure…?

    2. Examples, sure.

      Nothing means anything until it does.
      Now is forever.
      If the world were flat, what would be on the other side?
      If you don’t care enough, you’ll care more than anyone can comprehend.
      Morals are another form of slavery.
      Remember my article about the Physics and Definition of Sin . . . ? I embrace a spiritual God who manifests himself physically yet is not limited by known science. The spiritual is simply (yet complexly more than we can understand) another several dimension of Physics. Not very many people perceive him that way; it’s either one or the other. How is it that God hardened Pharaoh’s heart yet Pharaoh also hardened his own heart?
      I find the statements in the questions and the fallacies in the argument yet rarely speak of them choosing to walk the path of encouragement.
      There are always more than two sides of a coin; I contemplate as many as I can see looking at them all as possibilities.
      Gray areas are simply places where mankind has smeared the black into the white. If something is neither black or white and it falls outside of the commandments of God, it has nothing to do with right or wrong and is simply a matter of opinion and preference.

      I really don’t know how to explain it that well but it’s something people tell me often.

give yourself a voice...

